3-bedroom shared house, Fulham Road

Alphington • Victoria 3078

This listing has closed.

Description

Our home is located in (North) Alphington, a suburb of Melbourne 7km north east of the city centre and 6km south west of La Trobe Uni Bundoora. It is a quiet and leafy green residential suburb composed mostly of families. It is bordered by the Darebin Creek to the east and the Yarra River to the south. One of its best features is that it contains a number of beautiful bush reserves and parks. We are a 5 minute walk to Darebin Parklands.

Our home was built 9 years ago and has every modern feature. It has 3 bedrooms, each with mirrored built-in robes and a private balcony, 2 bathrooms, 3 toilets, a study area, an open plan living area, a separate small living area, a large kitchen with a double oven, dishwasher and walk-in pantry, a laundry, a double garage and a small rear garden with a private gate that leads directly onto Pitcher Park which includes a football, cricket ground and netball and basketball court. It has hydronic heating throughout, a split system heating/cooling system downstairs in the open plan living area and air conditioning upstairs. It is a light filled home and we are a relatively quiet household.

The room available faces east and looks out over Pitcher Park. It has a balcony. The room is 3. 3 by 3. 05 metres in size. It is fully furnished and includes a king single bed, side table and lamp; a sit/stand desk, computer chair and study lamp. You will have a bathroom for your own private use.

Utilities (water, gas, electricity, internet and cable television) are included in the rent at $30 per week.

We are an environmentally friendly and predominantly healthy vegetarian household with a small amount of sustainable fish consumed.

We like to keep the house clean and tidy and do so on a weekly basis.

We are 800 metres or a 10 to 15 minute walk to Alphington train station on the Hurstbridge line, and a few hundred metres from two bus services (route 350 direct to La Trobe University and route 508 to Moonee Ponds).

About Us

Our home is a warm and inviting multicultural-generational place to live. We celebrate diversity in all its forms and genuinely enjoy living together. I have spent most of my life sharing my homes with other people and prefer it over living alone. I value housemates with good and open communication skills, emotional intelligence, empathy and a growth mindset. Progressive values are a must!

By the end of April we will welcome to our home our first household pet: Bertie is a 4 month old Sheltidoodle (a Sheltie crossed with a Toy Poodle). He is a delightful toy/small dog with an outgoing and fun personality and is cute as a button! As such, you must like small dogs and be willing to share your space with him.

I am highly educated to Masters degree level with a Masters of Business Administration (MBA) and a specialisation in Environmental Sustainability, which is a great passion of mine. I also have a Bachelor of Arts degree with majors in Sociology and Women's Studies, and I remain deeply interested in these fields of knowledge. Professionally I manage an academic school at the University of Melbourne and mostly work from home.

I have spent 6 years of my life living, studying and working overseas in England, Canada, the USA and East Timor and I have travelled to more than 20 countries. My last overseas trip was to New Zealand for work and Norway for pleasure 2 years ago. I was fortunate to go cross country skiing on the outskirts of Oslo on a beautiful, sunny blue sky winter's day.

I enjoy cooking and baking a wide variety of foods from many different cultures and am always trying out new recipes. My favourite cookbook author is Ottolenghi. During lockdown last year I worked my way through Plenty, which my two housemates enjoyed immensely! I am now working through Plenty More and Sweet. And I love to share my culinary endeavours with the people I live with. My other interests are reading, attending art house cinemas, contemporary dance, listening to music from a wide array of genres such as ABC Classic FM and Triple J, watching quality television programs, and listening to social and contemporary affairs on ABC RN.

I enjoy keeping fit and active. I am a commuter and rail trail cyclist and also regularly attend my local gym for strength training and core work. I am an avid bushwalker and on most fine weekends, I walk in my local parklands along the Darebin Creek or with my bushwalking club. For my holidays, I enjoy camping and bushwalking in any number of our beautiful national parks. During the winter, I go cross country skiing. I am a keen naturalist and enjoy being an amateur ornithologist.

Rupert is my one and only child. He is near 10 years old and in grade 4 at our local primary school. He lives with me 7 nights a fortnight (50% of the time) and the other 7 nights (50% of the time), he lives with his dad, stepmother and near 2 year old brother who live 6km away.

Rupert enjoys riding his bicycle, engaging in imaginative play, playing with his Lego, cars and beyblades, doing puzzles, playing Uno and board games and watching kids TV. His favourite subjects at school are art and physical education. Rupert enjoys swimming and circus lessons as extra curricular activities. His closest friends are Jack, Pierre, Archie, Ben, Myria, Violet and Ori. Rupert is a delightful and curious little boy who is very use to adult company and as such, is a great conversationalist.

For the past four years we have happily hosted adult students from overseas and look forward to welcoming a new person to join our home.

Details

Lease At least 1 month
Bedrooms available
Single - $280 / week
Fully furnished, Own bathroom, Bond $1086
Available 1 May 2021
Occupants Occupant Occupant Vacancy
2 current occupants, 1 vacancy
Bathrooms 2
Placement Accommodation No
Utilities included in Rent Electricity, Gardening, Internet, Water, Gas
Garage spaces None
Carport spaces None
This property is Under lease agreement/subletting
Council registration number (Rooming Houses only) Not Applicable
Furnished - House Fully Furnished
Property safety Fire extinguisher or fire blanket in kitchen, Working smoke detectors in property, External security locks, Internal room locks, Outdoor lighting
Parking On street
Pets Not allowed
Preferred Gender Female

Public Transport

Below you can see public transport options to nearby campuses.